Kathy Franz – Excellence in HR Leadership Award


The award was developed to recognize a member of WSHHRA who displays professional excellence and makes a significant contribution to the field of Human Resources Management in Healthcare, as Kathy always did. As one of our founding members, Kathy has been at Yakima Memorial Hospital for 35 years and still remains active today agreeing to be the Chairperson for the South Central HR Association even after she retires this year.


This exemplary HR leadership warrants recognition from WSHHRA.  When completing the nomination form, please submit a supporting document, demonstrating evidence of significant nominee involvement in a leadership role within their organization and or within their community OR significant nominee involvement in Chapter activities and/or special projects.  The narrative must describe in detail the nominee’s contribution, how it was identified, process implemented, and overall outcome of the nominee’s contribution.


Submit nomination to Manda Scott by August 31, 2017 e-mail submission to: Manda Scott mailto:mandascott@yvmh.org



WSHHRA’s Board will review all nominations and select award recipient’s based upon the following criteria:

·         Nominee is a WSHHRA member

·         Demonstration of Leadership and Excellence


Award recipients will receive the following recognition:

·         Congratulatory letter from the WSHHRA President with a copy to the award recipient’s CEO & immediate manager

·         Recognition and award presented at the WSHHRA Fall Conference


Download Kathy Franz Excellence in HR Leadership Nomination Form


Previous winners of the Kathy Franz Excellence in HR Leadership Award include:



  • Pam Healea, Prosser Memorial Hospital, 2016
  • Chandra Rodriguez, Samaritan Healthcare, 2015
  • Juliet Nelson, Providence, Walla Walla, 2014
  • Steven Stahl, Virginia Mason, 2013
  • Jack Powers, Central Washington Hospital, 2011
  • Julie Feller, Grays Harbor Community Hospital, 2010
  • Kristen Fox, Kadlec Medical Center, 2009

Previous winners of the Dorothy Gannon award include:

  • Jack Powers, Central Washington Hospital, 2006
  • Connie DiGregorio, Cascade Valley Hospital and Clinics, 2005
  • Rena Irwin, Swedish Health Services, 2004
  • Bonnie Polhamus, Columbia Basin Hospital, 2002
  • Lisa McDaniel, Whidbey General Hospital, 2000
  • Jeff Clark, Kadlec Medical Center, 1999
  • Diane Weiserberger, University of Washington Medical Center, 1997
  • Debra Naubert, Good Samaritan Community Healthcare, 1996
  • Kathy Franz, Yakima Valley Memorial Hospital, 1995
  • Lewis Sutton, Sacred Heart Medical Center
  • Dennis Key, Central Washington Hospital
  • Alice Quinley, Kadlec Medical Center
  • W. Scott Houston, PeaceHealth
  • Ingrid Hogan, Virginia Mason Medical Center
  • Diana Hollingsworth, Holy Family Hospital